AIA Chooses Winners for Facility Design Awards

WASHINGTON — The American Institute of Architects (AIA) has recently recognized 15 projects with the 2012 Committee on Architecture for Education (CAE) facility design awards. The awards recognize trends and emerging ideas in the education field and honors excellence in planning and design, and disseminate knowledge about best practices in educational and community facilities.

The jury of AIA members included, Paul Hutton of Hutton Architecture Studio; David Ade with SMP Architects; Bukky Akinsanmi of Cooper Carry Architecture; Trung Le with Cannon Design and Robert Moje of VMDO.

The awards were divided into three categories including citation, merit and the highest award, excellence.

The 15 winners ranged from colleges, high schools, elementary schools, research centers and even an early childcare center. The winners are located throughout the country and each proved to the judges why they were deserving of the CAE facility design awards.

The AIA has been awarding standout educational facilities with CAE facility design awards since 2000. The deadline for the 2013 awards has not yet been set, but interested architects may continue to visit the AIA’s website within the upcoming months for more information on deadlines and submission guidelines: